A lot of people have asked me to post something on the outofnapkins blog about academic discounts. 

Here’s the long and short of what I know.  Anytime you are going to buy gear or software, ask about student discounts.  I have been taking classes off and on for the last 16 years.  Many times I enrolled simply to take advantage of student discounts.  Here are a few that I know of.

  • academicsuperstore.com – they have all sorts of deals for students including photoshop for $300 or lightroom for $100 and corel painter for $99.
  • HDR Software offers a discount on their HDR software (photomatix) – 60% to any qualified student and 75% off to any photography major.
  • Alien Bees offers 10% to qualified students.

Sometimes a company will require proof of enrollment, sometimes they want you to fax a copy of your student ID and one time I just had to submit an email address that ended with ” .edu”  for verification.

As I said in my last post, keep learning (and take advantage of those discount while you can).

p.s. I am heading to JB Sallee’s I photoshop people tour tomorrow. Just trying to practice what I preach.

