I purchased lightroom 2 a couple of months ago, and let me tell you, it is amazing!  I have around 15 thousand photos on my home computer. I spent a couple of hours per night for a week adding keywords and adjusting photos. Lightroom has made it incredibly easy for me to find images based on keywords, preferences (star ratings, color coding, and flagging favorites), by lens or camera used or by camera settings such as shutter speed or aperture used.  As a color technician for over 11 yrs, I can say with some authority that the correction panel in the develop module is the best I have ever seen – hands down. You can adjust exposure, color, white balance, individual colors and even recover highlights and add fill light to shadow areas.

Not convinced yet? I added a new graphics card to my computer this weekend so that I can run two monitors (which is supported by lightroom). I can view thumbnail images and make local or global corrections on one screen and then have a large preview of just the single image on the other monitor.

You can find a 30 trial version of lightroom from Adobe.

You can find lightroom at an academic discounted price of $99  at Academicsuperstore.com

If you really want to learn lightroom inside and out, you should get a one month subscription to kelbytraining.com and watch Matt Kloskowski’s 3 part training series. It is worth it’s weight in gold.

Lightroom was designed for photographers, not illustrators or graphic designers. Once you try lightroom, you will probably change your entire workflow. It is faster, smarter, and easier than any other product – once you understand how to use it’s features.   A couple of weeks ago Scott Kelby posted on his blog – Photshop Insider – that he rarely uses curves in photoshop anymore because he does almost all of his color correcting in lightroom or Adobe Camera Raw (camera raw is the raw converter shipped with photoshop – all it does is process raw files). Don’t quote me on this but I believe Matt Kloskowski states in his first lightroom video training series that for photography he spends over 85 percent of his time in lightroom compared to photoshop.

