Today at work, I received an order from a customer who requested that the photo look “crisp, light and airy”

What on earth does that mean.  Talk about ambiguous requests.  This is what we call a remake waiting to happen.  The instructions are totally unclear and have no technical value (other than light).  I can add or remove density or saturation or vibrance.  I can add or remove red, blue, yellow, green, cyan and magenta.  I can sharpen, blur, adjust gamma or contrast. 

What I can’t do is make a print crisp or airy.  What do they want me to do – make sun chips?

Do your lab a favor, the next time you send in an order, please stick to real corrections and not just fancy, artsy concepts.  You probably won’t hear it but someone will be thinking “thank god for a customer who understands”.

