After looking at some of the stats for this blog, I’ve discovered that the grunge overlay article was far and away the most popular. I feel that I never really did the article justice by just throwing some samples together, so I have decided to make some impressive examples for future use.

The first picture is my self portrait with two overlays. The first is in overlay mode and the second is in multiply mode (that’s why the background is so dark). I blurred myself in the overlay mode layer while I masked myself out of the multiply mode layer.

Self Portrait

Self Portrait

The second image is an example of a marblized paper sample used as an overlay. I used the free transform function in photoshop to stretch the sample to cover the whole image. Then I switched the layer mode to overlay. I took the lasso tool to select everything except the shirt (on the overlay layer). Finally, (on the overlay layer) I used a gausian blur with a high radius number to remove the texture while retaining the color effect (erasing or masking would have affected the color as well as the texture).

Marblized Overlay Shirt

Marblized Overlay Shirt

