Howdy folks,

Sometimes you notice a trend when you are browsing the internet.  Last week I realized that almost everybody who’s anybody on the web is using elinchrom products.  Scott Kelby, Joe McNallyWill Crockett to name a few.  A couple of weeks ago, I decided to take the plunge and buy a radio trigger system to simplify my life (shooting wise that is – they’re not much help in raising kids or selling a house I’m afraid).  After a long and exhausting research period, I finally decided on the Elinchrom Skyport series.

Back Story:      I e-mailed customer service for radio popper, pocket wizard, Paul C. Buff products (alien bees, white lightning) and elinchrom.  Not much help from any of them I might add.  pocket wizard and radio popper sent me to links on their websites, the other two sent warm, fuzzy and vague letters about how my concerns were valid and that I needed to buy into their system for full use of their features (no info on what features I would get).  Alas, I turned to amazon.com and read the customer reviews (which usually coincide with my opinions and concerns).  One review of the skyports in particular made the decision for me.  The basic idea was that “the elinchrom skyport has 4 channels, is tiny, has a 400 foot range and costs half the price of the pocket wizards.  Who cares if you can only trigger 400 feet away instead of pocket wizard’s 1500ft?  I’ve never shot an image over a football field (300ft)”.

That review did it for me and boy am I pleased with the triggers.  The universal reciever has worked with both my 580EXII as well as both of my Alien Bees B800 Flash Units.  I had one small problem with the cables included with the system but found a solution at the local radio shack as well as an awesome online site called flashzebra.com.  At radioshack I bought an adapter (it came in a three pack of different adapters) the specific one that I used converted a 3/32 inch plug into a 1/4 inch plug.  at flashzebra I ordered the Item #oo30 screwlock PC to elinchrom skyport cable.

All in all, I think this system is perfect for a diy photo booth system using 3rd party lighting systems as well as any photographer looking for a radio trigger (for more reliability than InfraRed systems – especially outdoors).  In addition, any lights that I buy in the future will be elinchrom brand as most models have built in triggers and can have the power dialed up or down remotely as well.  Heck, elinchrom even makes a usb unit to moniter and control your lighting from your computer.

One last note.  Flashzebra sent my stuff incredibly fast. I bought a cable as well as an umbrella adapter that allows me to connect my speedlight to a lightstand and use an umbrella with it.  The umbrella adapter worked great and the build quality was superb (I have a buddy who bought two other models and the flashzebra unit is better than either of my buddy’s brackets).

