howdy folks,

It’s been pretty busy around here so I haven’t been writing as frequently as I would like.  I had a portfolio shoot the other day.  I asked a couple of coworkers if they wanted some “free” family photos in exchange for letting me use them in my portfolio.  There are a lot of topics I could cover (but I’ll save them for another post). Some topics of consideration were: location scouting, outfit considerations and getting model releases.  Today I wanted to talk about the shot list.

Have you ever gone on a photo shoot and after the shoot you suddenly remember that one great pose that you saw the other day. You think “dang” (or insert your explicative of choice) because you didn’t remember the pose until it was too late. 

I remember studying wedding photography years ago.  One topic that kept popping up was the shot list with all of the various (almost mandatory) images that the newlyweds will expect to see in their photos.  Imagine no picture of the cake, no boquet toss or boquet for that matter, no first kiss, no bridesmades.  You get the idea.

Whenever you see a great pose, write it down so that you can reference it when you need ideas.  Before you head out on a shoot, review your pose catalog and make a list of poses that will be relevent to that session.  I am currently in the process of building four or five lists myself, that should cover most of the common situations I encounter.

***As a bonus, we originally planned to take all of the pictures in an extremely small park downtown, but another photographer showed up after we’d been there only 20 minutes.  I decided to pull my models and we shot in the alley.  I had scouted it a week ago and found a couple great locations.  There were a lot of great free props in the alley and it was much more visually interesting than the brick and stone found in the park.  Almost all of my favorite images were from after the park.  Rusty window grates and urban decay abounding, even the gravel parking area turned out to be a blessing in disguise.

In case you’re wondering here are a few pics from the shoot.

I think I took around 250 pics in 45 minutes.  I pulled around 80 to 100 images ( approx. 50 images for each family) for the DVD session I’m giving to my models.  I spent about 2.5 to 3 hours total in post (mostly in lightroom) cleaning and tweaking the final images.

